Mali Osage – ‘SWOOSH’

IMG_1685Wolfpact Music Group have released the brand new single by the supremely talented Mali Osage. Entitled ‘Swoosh’, Osage has created his unique brand of hip hop which is full of character and interest.

‘Swoosh’ has a backdrop of integral swirling synths and infectious beats. The synths are chordal at times with elements of them panning between both sides of the audio spectrum. The drums feel like the heartbeat of the song, they keep the music pumping through which provides a foundation for the main star, Mali Osage’s rap.

Osage has the ability to communicate through ingenious lyrics, the words dance harmoniously with the melody to create a slick and sleek single. There is no doubt that Mali Osage is a master of wordplay, he is able to convey varying emotions with class and elegance. His natural ability to create perfect cadences that land every time is not something which can be taught. His rap is organic, nothing is forced and the lyrics flow off of his tongue with grace. A true lyrical genius. This single is a masterclass in lyrical composition for any musician.

‘Swoosh’ see’s Osage’s cheeky character which is juxtaposed to a serious, vulnerable side and many emotions in-between. This song is immediately inviting but once it has the listeners’ attention there are also layers of depth to the piece which keeps their attention. It is also incredibly catchy, the main hook, “They won’t checking for me, now they checking for me.” will be stuck in your head all day in the most inviting way.

The production on this record is simply wonderful. Each of the instrumentation has its own space in the mix and creates layers and layers of texture and interest. The rap sits beautifully on the top and feels mellow with a stunning impact.

There is also a brilliant video which accompanies the release. It is filled with humour and humanity. It is also deeply charismatic. We must also give a shout out to Mali Osage’s moustache in the video, a star in its own right!

One thing is for sure, ‘Swoosh’ will have you reaching for the repeat button. So, ride the crest of this wave with Mali Osage and check out this magnificent single today!

Reviewed by FVReviews April 2019

https://www.maliosage.com

https://www.facebook.com/maliosage/

https://www.instagram.com/mali_osage/

Interview – Mali Osage

We were fortunate enough to catch up with Mail Osage, check out our interview with the talented rapper below.  

First things first, tell us about yourself? 

I’m a very determined person. I try to live my life like God is involved in all I do. I’m not really concerned with what people think of me, at the end of the day I need to be proud of anything I’m apart of, musically of just living in general. I feel like I’m at my creative best when I had tunnel vision.

What is your songwriting process? 

I like to listen to tracks before creating a song, it’s more about creating the vibe versus trying to make a sound.

Tell us about your latest release? 

Working on a Paper World. We can’t escape materialism but we should never compromise artistry for money. It’s a combination of personal things I’ve been dealing with but staying true to my goals.

What has been your funniest gig moment?

I was invited to perform at a spot with a live band. I wanted to do a freestyle of a Cold Play instrumental, the band which catered to Hip Hop primarily had no sides what the song was. Even when performing it, I knew my lyrics resonated with the crowd but it was an out of the box collaboration. Both the band and I received a lot of feedback but when they were initially hesitant I thought the set was going to backfire.

What message do you think your music conveys to your fans? 

If you have a different point of view, don’t be afraid to be different. Creativity happens when we block out any pressure to meet other people’s expectations.

Who are your musical influences? 

Jay Z, Kanye, Black Thought, Drake, Fabolous by name and for different reasons.  When I hear these guys it pushes me.

Who are your non-musical influences? 

I admire LeBron James’ story and growth. TD Jakes, Les Brown, Andy Wilcox (my barber when I was coming up) Robert Kiyosaki. Again, maybe a strange mixture but spirituality is just as important as success.

What do you think are the biggest obstacles for artists today? 

Understanding the business of music and the business of people. It’s a lot of sharks in this water.

What advice would you give to other artists starting out? 

Create, critique and don’t be afraid to be innovative. Secondly, surround yourself with people who are going to keep it brutally honest with you, don’t settle for “yes men”.

What are your hopes for next 2 years?

Continued peace and health. If I maintain those there’s nothing I can’t do. I might hope for a sunny day or whatever but my achievements rest in my drive. I believe success hinges on taking advantages of opportunities, big or small.

To find out more about Mali Osage, check out the links below!

Interviewed by FVReviews April 2019

https://www.maliosage.com

https://www.facebook.com/maliosage/

https://www.instagram.com/mali_osage/

Heathcote Hill – ‘Save The Ones You Love’ 

Heathcote_Hill_cover.jpg

Hailing from New York, Heathcote Hill are set to release their latest EP ‘Save The One’s You Love’. It is a mix of Country, Americana and Pop which will speak to your soul and have you reaching for the repeat button.

Released on the label 311 Music, ‘Save The Ones You Love’ opens with the title track. We are treated to luscious guitars, drums, bass, piano and a very special electric guitar solo. This is followed by Megan Porcaro Herspring’s beautiful vocals. She has the kind of voice which could sing any style of music and it would be wonderful. She is able to draw the listeners attention in and keep them mesmerised in the music. The song has unexpected changes from major to minor and also surprising 7th chords too. This is a theme we hear through the EP and it always keeps the listener on their toes.

‘Till These Troubles Pass Through’ features gorgeous harmonies and an electric guitar solo which is best described as magical. It is a stripped back song which does not need anymore instrumentation. The musicianship and the lyrics both shine through. Blissful.

We adored the song ‘Reckless Love’. It is a full band song from the get-go, filled with life and positive musical vibes. It is best described as upbeat Country Pop and once again it features a superb guitar solo. The backing vocals are strong and on point in the song too. A true masterclass in composition and performance.

The final two tracks, ‘Remember You Are Mine’ and ‘Never Change Your Mind’ do not let up with the top class song writing. They both feature heartfelt, relatable lyrics. The organs offer extra texture to the pieces which add further depth and enrichment.

Heathcote Hill are comprised of Megan Porcaro Herspring, Vocals, Bruce Rose, Bass, John Keener, Drums and Tom Nelson, Guitar/Piano. They are all clearly excellent musicians in their respective fields. Each of them shine in their areas but they also work well together to create beautiful, inspiring music.

So do something for you this Easter and check out ‘Save The Ones You Love’ today, you will not be disappointed.  

Reviewed by FVReviews April 2019

https://www.heathcotehill.net/

https://www.facebook.com/heathcotehill

https://www.instagram.com/heathcote_hill/

https://twitter.com/heathcote_hill

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCq396f_9NqCnfFNBU6MYPbA

‘Rise’ – Cherry Suede

Cherry Suede - Rise.pngFounded in 1999, Cherry Suede are a hard-hitting Rock band hailing from Ottawa, ON. Their latest single ‘Rise’ a is wonderful, catchy song which will have you reaching for the repeat button.

This glorious single opens to the sound of heavily distorted guitars which prepares the listener as to what is to come. They immediately give the listener an indication of the magnificent rock revival about to occur! Next, we hear drums and bass which cut away for the vocals to enter. The solo vocals give emphasis to their message and importance. It also lets the character of the vocal performance shine through. The vocals are melodic, gritty and captivating all at once. We adored the addition of the palm muted guitars which drives the verses along and the bass adds further layers of texture to a phenomenal track. The guitar solo is expected in the Rock genre of music but the solo on this single is perfectly timed and paced, it truly is musically spectacular.

Cherry Suede describe ‘Rise’ as, “A rallying call to action against everything that is holding us back as a society from reaching our highest ideals.” we certainly felt pumped and ready to rise after hearing this single! We loved the minor chords in the chorus which are juxtaposed to the positive and uplifting lyrics. This attention to detail is one of the many reasons as to why Cherry Suede stand out from the crowd.

Having played together for 20 years, it is no wonder Cherry Suede’s sound is tight. ‘Rise’ feels like a culmination of 20 years of hard work and graft to create a song which is simply superb. All of the musicians are experts in their fields and this is clearly demonstrated on this single. The mix, master and production are divine, each of the instruments have their own space in the mix and compliment each other.

I can not believe it has taken us this long to discover such a magnificent band, we are now fans for life and can not wait to hear what will come next from such a talented group of musicians. ‘Rise’ is officially released on April 28th 2019 on all major platforms. There is a pre-sale and pre-order available from https://cherrysuede.com now, so what are you waiting for? Click on the link now!

Reviewed by FVReviews April 2019

https://cherrysuede.com

instagram.com/cherrysuede

facebook.com/cherrysuedeofficial

twitter.com/cherrysuede

Diamond Lake – ‘Light On’ Single 

ngbhpmmjbielckak‘Light On’ is the infectiously brilliant single from New York-based band, Diamond Lake. Having formed in 2012, Diamond Lake is a powerful force to be reckoned with. They are taking their rock/pop brand of music to the streets and they are most certainly a band who need to be heard.

‘Light On’ is essentially a love song. It describes a break up with the option of the light being left on for a reconciliation. Its clever composition made it an instantaneous hit with us and we’re sure it is with new and old Diamond Lake fans alike.

The song begins with drums, bass and a guitar with a staccato rhythm. It is an opening which demands the listeners attention and captivates their imagination. The drums and bass stay throughout the verse with the guitar coming back in for the latter half of them. The choruses are driving with a big sound and catchy composition. We loved the addition of a tambourine which added another layer of colour. The middle eight sees sixteenths in the high hats and the outro is the same as the intro, bringing the song full circle.

Diamond Lake reminds us of The Strokes in places. Their energetic feel and catchy melodies make for a band destined for the top. Each of the band members are exquisite musicians in their own right. The drum is big and commands the listener’s attention, they are the heartbeat of the song and the feel changes at their command. The Bass in the verses has its own melody which is unusual, it does not follow the drums. This makes for a unique feel, it is travelling on its own path but yet still complimenting the vocals. The bass never gets intrudes on the vocals but adds a further dimension to a well-composed song.

Comprised of Jarrod Riddle, Ollie Bauer and Andrew Gruhn, Diamond Lake are a supremely talented group of musicians. So make sure you check out this magnificent trio today, you will not be disappointed. We can not wait to hear what comes next from Diamond Lake.

Reviewed by FVReviews April 2019

https://www.diamondlakeband.com/

https://open.spotify.com/artist/3YnOglp7zfx07lQoasp86H

https://www.facebook.com/diamondlakeband/

https://diamondlakeband.bandcamp.com/releases

https://www.instagram.com/diamondlakeband/

Christa Deánā – ‘Christa Deánā’

homokgmhoingdmjn_phixrHailing from Collegeville, PA, Christa Deánā is a magnificent artist who released her self titled album on 7th December 2018. Christa uses her musical platform to speak about her devotion to Christianity and does so in the most beautiful way.

The album opens with the raw and honest song, ‘My Story (Introduction)’. First, we hear a solo piano opening which is proceeded by an unexpected spoken word track. Christa Deánā speaks of bringing people to Jesus and of being a disciple. We also hear the drums kick in and a rich kick drum and bass. Christa Deánā feels honest and sincere from the get-go which is what draws in and keeps the listeners’ attention. There is a message of faith and us all being on a journey which many of us can relate to.

Not all of the songs are spoken word, ‘Plenty of Confidence’ opens with a guitar and percussion. It is an upbeat song and feels empowering and positive throughout. It really is a positive track which promotes positive thinking and we were left feeling, this is music with a big message. Christa Deánā’s voice and her message are the shining stars of the piece.

We adored the song ‘If God Doesn’t Want It’ for the swirling synths at the beginning, syncopated beat and the mix of the vocals. The beautiful spoken word track comes back on the song, ‘The Breakdown (Interlude)’. It is a heartbreakingly honest, angry and emotion filled song. In it, Christa Deánā asks a lot of questions to God and finds a resolution towards the end. It has been executed well and keeps the listener gripped even when it is uncomfortable listening.

The final song ‘Shine’ left us wanting more. There is an attitude which shines through accompanied by staccato claps, a catchy chorus and it also once again, showcases Christa Deánā’s stunning vocals.

‘Christa Deánā’ is extremely aptly named. The whole feel of the album is at the essence ‘Christa Deánā’. She is using her platform to promote an extremely positive message. The album oozes love, passion and empowerment. There is a strong message of hope, love and acceptance which is what sets this album apart from the crowd. It is a thoroughly enjoyable listen and we can not recommend it enough!

Reviewed by FVReviews April 2019

https://christadeana.com/

https://www.instagram.com/christadeana/

https://www.facebook.com/christadeana

https://twitter.com/christadeana

Brian Beecher​ Interview

We have interviewed the supremely talented Brian Beecher for our latest interview. Check out his latest release, ‘Lady of the Books’ today!

Hi Brian, thank you for meeting with us today. First off, tell us about yourself?

My name is Brian Beecher. I live in the western suburbs of Chicago and have for the better part of my life. 

What is your songwriting process?

I write only lyrics and have written over a thousand of them. All my recording are demos and not actual voice. I have a demo outfit set music to them.

Tell us about your latest release?

‘Lady of the Books’ was inspired by a conversation I had with a retiring librarian at my local library. I didn’t even know that she was retiring until it was her final day. Although the demo recording is a bit different than what I had envisioned when I sent it in for the job, I do feel it is one that would do nicely in the pop, easy listening, folk and country genres. I consider it to be the crown jewel among the lyrics I have created. I have been told that for the most part, my lyrics tend to be powerful, and I do tend to lean toward those that carry a great deal of sentiment. 

Who are your musical and non-musical influences?

My musical influences are many and varied. Among my songwriting heroes, I include Kris Kristofferson, Jack Clement, Mary Chapin Carpenter and Lucinda Williams. Non-musical influences include positive activist causes, not necessarily one of a set of particular persons.

What do you think are the biggest obstacles for bands/artists today and what advice would you give to musicians starting out?

The biggest obstacles are intense competition but we have all been forced to adjust to the reality that the advent of the Internet has unleashed. For me personally, the biggest obstacle is being able to budget the funds to get more demo recordings produced. Have no special advice for those starting out as everything is based on sheer luck, kinda like spinning the roulette wheel and hoping the little silver ball lands in the right hole.

Finally, What are your hopes for the next 2 years?

Over the next two years, I hope to be able to get a house in order so I can proceed to get more demos made and find a home for them somewhere.

Interviewed by FVReviews March 2019