Cumlaude – ‘Sol Rich 2’

D760B621-D607-4788-BB61-FA7311DAD03F‘Sol Rich 2’ is the new release by Cumlaude. This 11 track piece of art is filled with luscious harmonies and addictive beats in abundance.

The album opens with the song, ‘Oh God’. It features synth drums which have been programmed superbly and vocals which have been layered and mixed to either side of the audio spectrum to create wonderful texture. We adored the addition of reverb and delay on the vocals which gives them space and room in the mix. There are many vocals in this track and we especially liked the mix of the high and low octaves speaking in unison. It is an unusual technique which has been used expertly here.

We also enjoyed the track, ‘Let Go’ for its unusual percussion and beats which keeps the listener on their toes. The song is filled with unusual twists and turns which makes for an enthralling listen. Cumlaude is anything but predictable!

‘Her Bed’ is our favourite track on ‘Sol Rich 2’, it most certainly has single potential. It is a sexually explicit song in nature and is for an adult audience. There is an ominous feel to it and lyrics such as, “You don’t understand what’s in my head,” adds to this uneasy atmospheric piece. We loved how the lyrics are repeated and this makes for an impactful chapter in this tale of the album.

‘My Way’ is also a top class song. It hears Cumlaude’s vocals shine in their finest light. With a mix of singing and rapping it is a perfect demonstration as to the phenomenal talent which Cumlaude is. The song is relatable and features a gorgeous sounding piano too. The rap is free-flowing and Cumlaude hits every cadence perfectly every time.

We also must mention the mix, production and master of the ‘Sol Rich 2’, it uses the perfect amounts of compression, reverb and delay and creates a sound which is unlike anything else. We adored the space of the instrumentation in the mix and most of all it ensures that the luscious vocals are the main shining star of the piece. It truly is mesmerising and memorable listening.

So do not delay on this beautiful Bank Holiday weekend, make sure you check out this divine release, it will not disappoint!

Reviewed by FVReveiws May 2019

https://music.apple.com/us/album/sol-rich-2/1464976350

Dutty Devioso – ‘Precipice’ 

Dutty Album Cover Promo.jpg‘Precipice’ Is the brand new release from the phenomenally talented artist, Dutty Devioso. 

Released on the label Groove Control Entertainment, this 16 track album is deep and detailed from the beginning to the end. ‘Precipice’ opens with our favourite song, ‘Praise The Lord & Pass The Ammo’. First, we hear synths rising, followed by a list of people who we have lost, their names are followed by the words “Rest In Peace”. A classy and respectful beginning. It is an ominous opening for a track which is destined to touch your heart. It talks of the vitally important movement, ‘Black Lives Matter’ and how precious life is. The kick drum feels infectious and is the heartbeat of the song. We adored the sampled speech and the whole song is a masterclass in composition for any musician.

There are many excellent tracks on ‘Precipice’. ‘Ez’ creates the perfect instrumental backdrop for the rap to shine. Dutty Deviso’s rap is pure poetry. We also loved, ‘Never Looking Back’, for its attention-grabbing synths and pop culture references. ‘After the Rain’ for its honest reflection on depression and clever (again) poetical lyrics. ‘Go Dumb’ has an infectious, solid beat and reiterates that each song is filled with soul and quality. Our final favourite pick is, ‘Let Me Know’ for its honesty, it is a breakup song. ‘Precipice’ is filled with music with a purpose and a message to send. This is what sets this album apart from the crowd, Devioso is an artist who is using his platform and his voice for good.

A Louisiana native, Dutty Devioso has produced an album which is full of heart. His talented use of lyrical composition makes this album stand out from the crowd. He has the skill and ability to tackle serious subject matters with heart and authority. He is also relatable in his songs which are of a personal relationship matter too. He has a human connection with people which is something which can not be taught. His natural abilities are on show in abundance on this record and what a pleasure it has been for us to review it.

So check out this truly sublime release today, we are sure you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by FVReviews May 2019

Artist Name: Dutty Devioso

Album Title: Precipice

Artist Website: http://www.duttydevioso.com

I-Tunes – http://tinyurl.com/yxeros8c

Spotify – http://tinyurl.com/y4mhxm5b

http://www.twitter.com/duttydevioso

http://www.instagram.com/duttydevioso

http://www.youtube.com/duttydevioso

Klef Mikaydo – ‘My System’ 

Cover.jpgReleased on 24th May 2019, ‘My System’ is the superb new single from the supremely talented artist, Klef Mikaydo

The song opens with a subdued and ambiguous feel. There are synths to be heard, rolling in sounding like short sharp waves. This is accompanied by a male, almost breathing vocal in the background. The main vocals kick in with rising, string-like synths. Both of these additions have their own melodies but still, come together to work as one cohesive piece. The beat is syncopated when it enters and the synths build to a swirling intoxicating rhythm.

All of these things make for a layered and interesting piece of music. They are what sets Klef Mikaydo apart from the crowd. We adored the little touches such as the telephone like voice, breathy and enticing. The songs’ structure is filled with rises and falls making for a truly texture piece of work.

The true shining star of the piece is Mikaydo’s voice. His tone is exquisite and mesmerising. He has the type of voice you could listen to all day and never tire of. His melodies are catchy and memorable with notes of pure genius. This mix of unique and special talent is rarely seen and needs to be heard to be appreciated.

The mix of the song is also exquisite. There are a lot of interesting rhythms and melodies but there is space in the mix for all of them to be enjoyed at once. They never intrude upon one another but always compliment each other fully. The use of reverb and delay have been used in perfect amounts to compliment the sound. We could hear ‘My System’ being played in any RnB club. Its vibe is chilled with relatable lyrics.

Hailing originally from Los Angeles, Mikaydo is the real deal. His songwriting and performance talents are on show in abundance on this single. He is able to draw the listener in and capture their attention with ease and grace.  We had this single on repeat for the majority of the afternoon and will be waiting eagerly with anticipation to see what comes next from this incredible talent. Use this bank holiday to check out this amazing single, you will not be disappointed!

Reviewed by FVReviews May 2019

Official website: https://klefmikaydo.com

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/klef_mikaydo/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/klef_mikaydo

Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/5GF8IwseS182KiuXazgHOP

Apple Music/iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/klef-mikaydo/1272252473

Cathyy – ‘For Your Love’

Attachment_1558277670.jpegReleased originally in 2017, ‘For Your Love’ is the captivating single by the 21-year-old musician, Cathyy. It is a deeply emotional song which is filled with sentiment and relatable themes throughout.

Cathyy is a singer/songwriter who writes from the extracts of her diary. This raw, stream of emotion can be felt on this song. ‘For Your Love’ gives the listener an insight into Cathy’s world from a specific time and place. This snapshot style of writing packs a big punch from the beginning to the end.

‘For Your Love’ is thoroughly engaging from the get-go. It has a stripped down feel, with 3 instruments: guitar, voice and piano. Each of these instruments brings something new to the mix. They have been used in a sympathetic way to let the lyrics shine through. There are short piano solos in the piece which add a new dimension and take the song into new directions adding to its rich layers and tapestry.

Cathyy creates melodies in vocal performance which are instantly recognisable as her trademark style. Her chord structures fit well together and there is a definite change between the verses to choruses. The chorus chords take unexpected twists and turns which keeps the listener’s attention well. At the heart of this single, it is a sweet song which sees a breathy vocal performance to further enrich the piece. We also adored the guitar parts to the song, they are strummed well with an interesting and ear-catching rhythm.

For us, the only complaint we have is the length of the single. At 4:45, it is perfect for an album but a single should be around 3 minutes for a radio edit. A few tweaks with the arrangement of the song would make it more fitting for a single release.

In conclusion, Cathyy is a very promising talent. We were left wondering what will come next from such a raw talent. In a world where single releases are the current format for producing new music, we would love to hear an entire album from this superb writer. An album enables a body of work to be appreciated as a whole entity. We believe, Cathyy has the talent and ability to achieve this should she wish to.

So do not delay and check out the future of music today, you will not be disappointed!

Reviewed by FVReviews May 2019

Instagram: _cathymeetsworld

Twitter: @cathyysings

Facebook: Cathyy

Spotify: Cathyy

YouTube: Cathyy

Shambhu – ‘Lilac Skies’  

Lilac Skies 1200 x 1200 cover art.jpg‘Lilac Skies’ is the beautiful new single from the phenomenally talented artist, Shambhu. He describes the song as, ‘Soothing Guitar for a Peaceful World’ and we can not disagree!

The opening of the song hears rich drums swiftly followed by Shambhu’s trademark sound. His guitar parts are melodic, effortless and supremely skilful. There is no doubt that this is a guitarist who is a master of his craft. Shambhu reminds us of Santana and Walter Becker in places but make no mistake, he has a sound all of his own.

This single sounds as beautiful as its’ title suggests. Filled with rich grooves and toe-tapping melodies it is a masterclass in songwriting and composition. Hailing From Westhampton, NY, Shambhu is innovating the much-loved genre of Jazz with ‘Lilac Skies’. We adored the luscious grooves and riffs arranged around the magnificent improvised solos. Shambhu is a supremely gifted musician. He is able to convey emotion and heart through his passion for Jazz.

There are also many instruments to back Shambhu’s divine offerings. We hear; Frank Martin – keyboards, Celso Alberti – drums and percussion, Kai Eckhardt – bass and Premik Russell Tubbs – flute. Each of these musicians clearly demonstrates on ‘Lilac Skies’ the skill and expertise they possess in their respective fields. They create their own melodies and paths which consistently compliment one another throughout.

The mix, production and mastering have been executed extremely well on this song. It was recorded by Adam Muñoz at Fantasy Studios, Mixed by Todd Boston at Magic Cottage Studios and Mastered by Tom Eaton at Imaginary Road Studios. You can hear the level of care and attention to detail which has been applied to create texture and balance.

We must also mention the inspiring video which accompanies this release. There are beautiful visuals of relaxing lilac skies and the colours achieved are breathtaking. We see serene images of a person paddle boarding, a marina recorded on a time-lapse and relaxing coastal scenes. We also loved the very end where we see snippets of the musicians who have provided the rousing music. A very classy touch.

Shambhu has an impressive CV, from having jammed with Carlos Santana to playing on Whitney Houston’s debut album, ‘Whitney’, he is an artist who is consistently producing music to the highest level. Check out this magnificent artist today!

Reviewed by FVReviews May 2019

Official Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJ8gBjSDkMQ

Website: https://www.shambhumusic.com/

Doug Collins and The Receptionists – ‘Good Sad News’ 

a3642549518_16Doug Collins and The Receptionists have released their latest album,’Good Sad News’. It is a magnificent album which showcases the best in energetic Country music.

‘Good Sad News’ opens with the track, ‘Conversation With My Heart’. First, we hear electric guitar riffs which set the scene beautifully as to what is to come. Upbeat drums, bass and sweet harmonies fill the audio spectrum with their carefully crafted rhythms and melodies. There is a surprising switch to minor chords which will become a signature of this record. It is used in many places and is surprising each time. There is also a guitar solo which has wonderful melodies, clear and concise. Blissful.

‘Little House (Built For Two)’ is again an happy song. There are rolling bass and drums to be enjoyed with upbeat, sweet vocals. The signature move kicks in where the minor chords appear and it is quite disconcerting. There is also a staccato rhythm introduced which adds texture to the piece. The emotions are layered in this song, they start happy and upbeat and slowly turn to sadness. It is clever writing and reinforces the title of the album, ‘Good Sad News.’

There are many songs to be enjoyed during this piece of work. We adored ‘Please Don’t Make Me Leave You’ for it’s smooth, sway 50’s feel. ‘Crush On You’ has the most beautiful harmonies from the get-go. ‘I Saw You Dancing’ sees a change of tempo. It is in 3/4 and is much slower than its predecessors. The pedal steel guitar is a beautiful addition and there is a twang of sadness in the air to the whole piece. ‘Hey Mary’ features an accordion heavily which was a refreshing addition and is played superbly. Finally, ‘Top of the Watchtower’ is based on a 12 bar, it ends on an upbeat feel with lots of trademark riffs and harmonies.

The musicianship on ‘Good Sad News’ is extremely high. Collins’s voice plays a pivotal part to the proceedings and conveys emotion beautifully. His tone seems innocent but there are always layers of the story underpinning it. The Mix, master and production of the album have also been executed to a high standard.

So check out this spectacular release today, you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by FVReviews May 2019

Website: dougcollinsmusic.com

Bandcamp: https://dougcollinsandthereceptionists.bandcamp.com

Facebook: facebook.com/Doug-Collins-and-the-Receptionists/230532213664624

Spotify: open.spotify.com/artist/62vZfadnGyHwLq26IxfPwL?si=WPuPdbQBRay39CVpZ3zs5w

Young Space Wolf – ‘CYAN’

COVER.pngDanny Ali aka Young Space Wolf released his brilliant new album ‘CYAN’ on 28th April 2019. It is a superb hiphop/rap album which showcases the genre to its finest.

‘Pilot’ starts the album. Its use of piano and spoken word (which is heavily saturated in gorgeous reverb) is a hard-hitting opening. We hear the spoken word lyrics, “Not every story told is a fairytale,” we found this to be an enthralling beginning and shows the calibre of songwriting to come. On this song, we also loved the lyrics, “Burn your wings,” it evokes wonderful imagery and showcases what a talented and accessible artist Young Space Wolf is.

There are many magnificent tracks on ‘CYAN’ and it is hard to pick our favourites. We had a special appreciation for ‘Star’, it has interesting percussion and Young Space Wolf’s lyrics seem to just fly off of his tongue. He makes rapping seem effortless and natural when it is anything but. His cadences land every time and he conveys emotion beautifully. ‘RUN’ (feat. Joe Frazier) is another top class song. Its use of claps and reverb sets a beautiful scene for the raps to build from. We adored the female vocals on ‘Free’ and also its clever use of production. The song ends on a phone call and the next song picks up from where it leaves off. A masterclass in production and writing.

Without a doubt, the shining star of ‘CYAN’ is Young Space Wolf’s rap performances. It is filled with energetic and characterful deliveries in a way only he can. The thing which sets Young Space Wolf apart from the crown is how realistic and relatable he is. At the age of 22, he is the face of the next generation, and how lucky we are to have him.

The album is filled with wonderful production throughout. There is a lot of layers under the rap, whether they are synths or samples there is always enough room in the mix for them. Each element has it’s own space to shine but they also come together to work as one cohesive piece.

Hailing from South San Francisco, Young Space Wolf is redefining the genre with this album. The artwork which accompanies the release fits the project perfectly and is a perfect introduction to a magnificent body of work. Filled with luscious synths and samples, ‘CYAN’ is a must listen this year.

So make sure you check out ‘CYAN’ today, you will not be disappointed. 

Reviewed by FVReviews May 2019

www.dannyali.com

Instagram: https://instagram.com/youngspacewolf

Twitter: https://twitter.com/youngspacewolf

FB: https://www.facebook.com/youngspacewolf/